The frightening experience by
Hendanes lighthouse was first lit on 25 November 1914. This was to the great delight of fishermen and an ever-increasing number of fishing companies in Måløy. The nearest neighboring lighthouse is Kråkenes lighthouse, established 8 years earlier. The lighthouse has a spectacular location 45 meters above sea level on a mountainside. To get to the lighthouse, one had to build a 675 meter long gravel road along cliffs and rocks. The lighthouse station consisted of a main building, an outbuilding and a boathouse.
In 1952, the lighthouse was closed down as a station with permanent service. The lighthouse was replaced with a lighthouse. Three years later, electricity was added to the lighthouse. In 1955, the lighthouse was electrified with a unit in reserve. In 1963, a radio beacon was built. In the 1980s, the lighthouse building was left to a local fishing community. As of today, the lighthouse is characterized by severe weather and little maintenance.
There are now plans for a major tourism investment at Hendanes lighthouse where they will focus on the sea, the view, the weather and the fearsome experience you can get out there. If the plans are realized, it will be something completely unique for both tourists and the inhabitants of the municipality.